Silverbacks Women Win W-League Title
Posted on Sun, Jan 1, 2012

The Atlanta Silverbacks Women captured their first USL W-League championship Sunday night with a 6-1 win over the Ottawa Fury at Starfire Stadium in Seattle, Wash.

The Women have come close to winning the title in past seasons, earning trips to the Final Four three of the last five years, but they were never able to bring home the trophy until now. 

“We weren’t focused last year, but this year we came into the weekend with a different mindset,” said Women’s head coach Chris Adams. “The girls were absolutely outstanding, and they played so hard against a very talented Ottawa team.”

The Women got on the board early, tallying their first goal in the ninth minute of play. Midfielder Jamie Pollock headed in a pass from forward Megan Tomlinson, who was named the game’s MVP, to give the Women an early 1-0 lead.

Forward Susannah Dennis doubled the Women’s lead a few minutes later, before the game took an unfortunate turn for the Fury. Ottawa defender Courtney Wetzel committed a foul in the penalty area that the referee deemed worthy of a straight red card. The Fury were reduced to 10 players and forward Alexa Newfield converted the penalty kick for the Women, giving them a 3-0 first-half lead. 

Despite the ejection of Wetzel, the Fury came out strong in the second half. W-League MVP Mallory Outerbridge found the net just after halftime to cut the Women’s lead to two goals. The Women found an immediate answer, though, thanks to Dennis’s second goal of the game.  

The Women’s 4-1 lead would only increase as the Fury begin to tire. Tomlinson and fellow forward Sarah Bennett added goals down the stretch to make it 6-1, a score that would hold until the final whistle.

The win gave the Silverbacks franchise its first league championship at any level.

The title game will be shown on tape-delay on Fox Soccer Channel tonight, August 1, at 7:30 p.m. Fans are invited to come watch the game at Silverbacks Park under the concession stand tent. The Women will also be honored during halftime of the Silverbacks game against FC Tampa Bay on Saturday, August 6.